And now I know what to do with the Chocolate Bock . . .

Each year I buy several cases of Sam Adam’s Winter Collection  to get me through Spring because I’m not fond of the Spring selection, but there is always a a Cranberry Lambic in the bunch. This year’s Cranberry Lambic was something called a Chocolate Bock.

To deal with the Cranberry Lambic I started making this bread:

Cranberry Beer Bread
3 c flour
2 tsp baking powder
0.5 tsp salt
0.5 c sugar
3 tbsp vegetable oil
12 oz cranberry lambic
0.5 c dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 180ºC/350ºF and lightly grease a loaf pan.
In very large bowl, whisk together dry ingredients. Stir in cranberries. Make a well in the centre and add vegetable oil and beer. Stir just until no streaks of flour remain. Pour batter into prepared pan.
Bake 55-60 minutes, until top springs back when lightly pressed. Turn out of the pan and allow to cool on wire rack.

Of course, as soon as I found this recipe, Sam Adams replaced Cranberry Lambic with something else, which last year was good; this year’s replacement was not so good.

So, to deal with the Chocolate Bock, I’m going to try the Chocolate Stout Cake with Whipped Vanilla Bean Frosting from Sweetapolita, found via I am Baker.  I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Oh, and for those of you going, “but wait! the recipe calls for stout, not a bock!” – just FYI, ale versus lager refers to the brewing method; a stout is just an ale made with super roasted barley so it became unmalted because the Irish were looking for a way to get around British taxes on malted barley.  Just, FYI.  Of course, I can’t find any of this conveniently linkable on the internets or Wikipedia or anything, but I swear it’s true!

 

Leave a Reply

