Aaron Sorkin Rocks

“I wanted to ask you a couple of questions while I have you here. I’m interested in selling my youngest daughter into slavery as sanctioned in Exodus 21:7. She’s a Georgetown sophomore, speaks fluent Italian, always cleared the table when it was her turn. What would a good price for her be? While thinking about that, can I ask another? My Chief of Staff Leo McGarry insists on working on the Sabbath. Exodus 35:2 clearly says he should be put to death. Am I morally obligated to kill him myself or is it okay to call the police? Here’s one that’s really important because we’ve got a lot of sports fans in this town: touching the skin of a dead pig makes one unclean. Leviticus 11:7. If they promise to wear gloves, can the Washington Redskins still play football? Can Notre Dame? Can West Point? Does the whole town really have to be together to stone my brother John for planting different crops side by side? Can I burn my mother in a small family gathering for wearing garments made from two different threads? “Think about that, will you? Oh, and one last thing. You may have mistaken this for your meeting of the ignorant tight-asses club but in this building, when the President stands, nobody sits.”

– Jeb Bartlet, The West Wing

I don’t watch much T.V.  I watch HBO.  But when I did watch T.V.  I watched The West Wing among others.  It was a great show.  And Aaron Sorkin is the bomb.  There is really no other way to describe his bravado with words, the way he can weave together concepts into beautiful monologues.  And no one writes a better comeback:

“Because if I wasn’t, you’d be the most popular history teacher at the University of Wisconsin!”

– A.J. MacInerney, The American President

or maybe I just like Martin Sheen. 

In any case, I find the dislike of Studio 60 unfounded, but truly enjoyed the latest offering from 30 RockPlan B – because Aaron Sorkin was in it and a jab at Studio 60 was made.  As a concept, really, Aaron Sorkin should be permitted to reinvent Studio 60 as a show about a news television show, which would work better, but that would still be unpopular because no one wants to know that the news is in it for the money too.

But I digress.  The point is that I will always love The West Wing.  And Aaron Sorkin.  The fact that he collaborated with Trent Reznor in making The Social Network just makes that movie all that more better.  Aaron Sorkin’s prose is impeccable.  It inspires one to think that greatness is still possible.  That poets should not be dead, and that things read and heard as news should sound and feel more like what he writes.  That presidential speeches could be those made by the greats of the past and still sound modern in the present. 

And that T.V. could be more like HBO.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Danielle on April 5, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    Can I just say that I love this whole post? I was so upset when they cancelled Studio 60.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

